My Review: I Heart Paris by Lindsey Kelk (5 stars) 

Angela is in the city of love — but romance is taking a nose-dive! When Angela Clark’s boyfriend Alex suggests a trip to Paris at the same time as hip fashion mag Belle asks her to write a piece, she jumps at the chance. But even as she’s falling for the joie de vivre of Paris, someone’s conspiring to sabotage her big break. And when she spots Alex having a tete-a-tete with his ex in a local bar, Angela’s dreams of Parisian passion all start crashing down around her. With London and her old life only a train journey away, Angela can’t decide if should stay and face the music or run away home!

I have the first book in the series ( I Heart New York) and also the second (I Heart Hollowyood). I have read the first one but not the second one yet, but in I Heart Paris, the third book in the series, I got an insight into  some events from the second book .My dad bought me I Heart Paris during a quick trip to Waitrose. 

Paris is a city  I have been to once, and I loved it. It’s every bit as chic as it is portrayed to be in the plethora of films and books about it. I fell in love with the cover of this book, and also the title. I was looking for something good to read, and didn’t know what the other authors’ books on the supermarket shelf at the time would be like, so I jumped at the chance to read something by a familiar author. I really wanted to see what Angela got up to in Paris, and I wasn’t mistaken about my hunch that I Heart Paris would be just as good as Lindsay’s debut novel, I Heart New York. We meet some interesting characters in I Heart Paris: French girls Virginie and Solene. There’s a point where Virginie and Angela get on well: they both have a love for fashion, socializing and style. There were times when I felt very sorry for Angela, when she found out Alex (her boyfriend) and Solene (his  ex) were back in contact during the time HE’D invited her to accompany him to Paris, and then the time I wanted to pat her on the back  and applaud her when she walked away From Virginie after overhearing  her on the phone to Cici, her workmate in NYC, and it turned out Cici had planned for Virginie to befriend Angela during her visit and take her to the wrong stores, cause her problems with her blog, and generally embarrass her. I sympathised with her when Louisa, her best friend from London, left at the end of a visit, and again when she took the brave decision to go back to London on the Eurostar without Alex. All the situations in the book were well thought out and tied together. 

I read I Heart Paris in April 2015. Throughout the whole book, Angela seems the only character apart from Louisa who has remained true to what she wanted for herself, everyone else seemed to have a lot of hang ups. In the end, it seems to me that Angela’s friendship with Virginie was too good to be true, I thought the extra section about Angela’s guide to what to do in Paris was a cute extra to the book. 

What I love about Lindsey Kelk’s books is that Angela is very realistic and easy to relate to. I am looking forward to reading the rest.  Aside from some books from the I Heart series, I’ve read Jenny Lopez has a Bad Week 

Leave a Reply

