My Favourite Throwback TV: ER 

As it’s Tuesday today, I thought I’d get into the trend of doing a “throwback” post, as I see lthese are popular on Tuesdays and Thursdays in the world of blogs and social networks. 

The first TV show which is a great favourite of mine from years past is ER

 Set in Chicago, this medical drama deals with the personal and professional crises of the doctors in the emergency room at County General Hospital. From the exciting to the mundane, a day in the frantic hospital serves up many interesting dilemmas as well as heartrending choices for everyone on staff.
I’ve loved ER since I was 11 years old. Before then, I watched Casualty now and then, and tried to get into Holby City, but when I started watching ER, I found that the previous programs didn’t have the same appeal for me anymore. Back in the early 90s, ER was aired weekly on TV, and I would never miss an episode. What I love then, and still love, about ER is the level of plot outline that is in every episode as well as the standard of acting, and the themes that they deal with. Years ago, roughly about the time when I was at Reading university, I started buying and collecting ER DVDs. The last ones that were bought for me were seasons nine and six, which were the only ones I never got round to buying myself. I remember that every time I was in town I would make a beeline for HMV, where many of the ER DVD box sets were often reasonably priced, and other times were greatly reduced in the sale . Nowadays though, it’s a different story because HMV has closed down, and ER hasn’t been on TV for years . A few years ago, the last season of ER was aired, and then the last episode. I can remember feeling quite sad about this, because ER had been a part my life for so long, and it was the realisation that no more episodes were going to be made that made me feel sad. Luckily, I have all 15 seasons of the series, so I can watch it whenever I want to.
More about ER

How the ER Cast Changed Over The Years 

1994-1995 

  

2008-2009

  

My ER Stats 

Favourite episode Blizzard, Season 1, episode 10. This episode was full of action and tension after a multi-vehicle pile- up leaves the ER inundated with patients. Great performances by Ewan McGregor and Julianna Margulies, too. 

Least favourite episode And In The End Season 15, episode  22. This was my least favourite, not because it wasn’t great, but because it was the last episode ever and I didn’t want the series to end. 

Favourite actors Anthony Edwards, George Clooney Julianna Margulies and everyone else- they all bought something unique to the series. 

Least favourite actors  I didn’t particularly like Paul McCrane’s character, Robert Romano, but he played him well. 

All these years without seeing ER on TV have been hard, but at least I have all the episodes on DVD so I can treasure them forever. Because great TV never goes out of style 🙂 

All fifteen of the ER seasons on DVD 

   

Fifteen Years of Memories, laughter stories sadness and my faviurite TV show of all time
 

2 thoughts on “My Favourite Throwback TV: ER 

Leave a Reply

