Sunday with a Sassy Shopaholic: new ebooks and DVDs  

I’ve have been on a bit of a book binge recently: yesterday I went on the audible website and saw that they had a sale on which they called “summer of 6.99.” I read through the synopses of the books that I thought I like the sound of, and also listened to the audio sample that came with each of them. The ones I like the sound of, but didn’t end up buying, are in my WishList. After mulling over my decision for a while, I decided to buy The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd. 

  
 In the last few days, I’ve been reading the e-book sample of Jodi Picoult’s latest novel, Off The Page, written with her daughter Samantha Van Leer. 

  

I have all the rest of Jodi’s books, so I thought “why not buy her latest one?”. I’m glad I did, because her books are books that I don’t mind reading/listening to again and again, so every one is an investment.

A couple of days ago, Alfredo and I went to the supermarket , as we knew that DVDs were on offer . The kinds of films he likes are action films, or any kind of film with the storyline based on a true story as well as anything with a good plot or that has won some kind of award. I’m not a great fan of action films, but I do like the other two types of films he does, so it’s really enjoyable for us to watch a film together. In the end, we ended up buying 

12 Years A Slave 

   

   

Life Is Beautiful   and Beauty And The Beast (2014 remake). We saw Life Is Beautiful on TV a couple of times, and I saw Beauty and the Beast as soon as we bought it, and I will review it in another blog post. I did like it though. I can’t wait to read the rest of Off The Page  and The Invention of Wings and see the other DVDs. I’ll be reviewing everything we bought. 

 

Leave a Reply

