Review: Cucumber- scented Cleansing Lotions and Cleansing Milk- Boots Essentials vs HEMA

 I’ve used the Boots Essentials Cucumber Cleansing Lotion lots of times. 

   
  

 This is my first time using HEMA’s Cucumber Cleansing Lotion. 

After having used many products of HEMA’s, I noticed most of them have  either a high alcohol content, , a lot of fragrance, or both. I’ve used a few products (Body Lotion, Day Cream with SPF 10) where this didn’t agree with my skin- I felt an uncomfortable stinging feeling when I used these products a few seconds after they were applied. I was looking for a product that would be kinder to my skin, and luckily 

I found this cleansing milk by HEMA.  It’s formulated for dry or sensitive skin. I wouldn’t usually class my skin as dry or sensitive most of the time, but there are times of the year when it feels a little tight and can sometimes be a little itchy- especially in the summer and winter. It has been feeling like this recently, so I decided to buy this cleanser. So far, I’ve used about a quarter of the product, and really like it. The product is creamy, and light. It doesn’t react with my skin, and is gentle enough to use on my eyes, although I generally always use an eye make up remover for sensitive eyes. I tried it on my eyes a few days ago, and it removed my makeup, didn’t sting or leave a residue. I think I’ll save it to use just on my skin though, because I don’t generally as a rule like to use a product as thick as a cleanser to remove my eye makeup just in case it clogs my pores. I found the cleansing milk to be very nourishing. 

I like products with natural ingredients all year round, but find many brands are too expensive for my budget, so over the years I’ve looked for cheaper brands with natural ingredients in the stores I trust. I was a bit sceptical of the Boots Essentials range of products at first, because of the price, but thought “at £1.50 it can’t hurt to try it.” I saw the Cucumber Cleansing Lotion, and remembered that cucumber is used to refresh- if it’s refreshing to eat, it should be refreshing for the skin. I was right: the light, creamy lotion with it’s subtle cucumber fragrance didn’t irritate my skin at all, and made it feel clean, soft and fresh. 
I bought this for the first time years ago, and have used it many times since. It’s really worth it as a budget product. Despite this, it cleans my skin really well and leaves it refreshed. Less nourishing than HEMA’s cleansing milk, but still keeps skin soft. 

After that comparison, here’s a quick summary:

Boots Essentials Cucumber Cleansing Lotion
Creamy 

Easy  to apply

 Non-greasy.  

All Skin Types. 

Texture: lotion 

150ml 

£1.50

Buy here Boots Cucumber Cleansing Lotion

HEMA Cucumber Cleanser for Dry and Sensitive Skin, 250ml 
Creamy 

Easy to apply 

Texture: Cleansing Milk 

Non-greasy. 

Sensitive/Dry Skin 

Slightly thicker, and more nourishing than a lotion

250ml 

£2/ €2.50

Buy here HEMA Cleansing Milk Dry Sensitive Skin

Both have a subtle scent, and smell identical.  They both clean and refresh just as well as each other. The only difference is the amount you get and the price. HEMA costs more but you get more, Boots costs less but you get less.
So, which would I choose? Of the two, I’d choose HEMA’s, simply because, for a mere £1/€1.50 more, you get a whole 100ml of product than the Boots Essentials Cucumber Cleanser gives you. HEMA does have stores, but also has a website you can order from. 
Having said that, Boots Essentials Cucumber Cleanser is available inshore and online. This would always be a product I’d buy if the other wasn’t available for any reason, or if I didn’t want to pay delivery costs. Boots has more stores than HEMA, so this product would be easier to get hold of. 

Leave a Reply

