Unconditional Body Beautiful Post 8: My Feet

I love fashion and I love shoes. Shoes don’t always like me though. My favourite shoes are summer shoes because of the lighter materials and range of colours. Just like other people without any kind of disability, I love to go shoe shopping. The browsing part is easier than the actual practical part of shoe shopping for me. I can spend hours looking at the latest styles of shoes and lusting after that “must have” pair, but if they are not supportive enough for me then I will never be able to buy them and its pointless even thinking about doing so. Despite being in my powerchair most of the day I still like my shoes to be comfortable, and I always like choosing cute styles. These are my latest summer sandals which I bought last summer and which I absolutely love. I absolutely refuse to wear trainers and think that the only place for those is in the gym.Onto the subject of feet – that’s going to be interesting because the posture of my feet is affected by my cerebral palsy and I have a rotation of the hip bones as well as my pelvis which means that my legs and feet turn inwards. I’ve never been able to move my toes , so I don’t know what it’s like to be able to wiggle my toes to ease up some tension or be able to sit on the side of the pool and wiggle my toes in the cool water. If the muscles of my toes do get tighter than they usually are , then my partner Alfredo will give them, and my feet, a massage. I’ve always had small, narrow feet – for years my feet were UK size 2 (US size 4) and then they went up to a size 4 (US size 6).  Now though, I’m usually between a size 4 and a size 5 (US size 7) depending on the style of the shoe as well as how easily they fit my feet when the person who’s with me puts them on me. My feet are still quite narrow, and always have been. 

The most annoying thing to me about the summer and my feet is the fact that the heat makes my feet swell up pretty badly. In fact, I’ve had to ask for some of my summer sandals to have straps that are more adjustable so that they can be widened when my feet swell. This is a great solution because it means I don’t have to give up on wearing sandals that I love just because of this problem.  I also notice this swelling at other times of the year.

Here are my newest  pair of sandals which I’ve had just over a year. I saw them in the shop and just HAD to have them, I thought they were so cute. 

   
  Luckily, when I was talking to a  wheelchair technician years ago, he came up with a great idea to start my feet and legs falling backwards/ forwards off of footrests. What he's done is he's been up my foot rest with a hard plastic covering which also has a raised heel  protector at the back so that my feet don't fall off. They are held in place by Velcro straps and this means they don't go anywhere!  
 Luckily, when I was talking to a wheelchair technician years ago, he came up with a great idea to start my feet and legs falling backwards/ forwards off of footrests. What he’s done is he’s been up my foot rest with a hard plastic covering which also has a raised heel protector at the back so that my feet don’t fall off or stick out in front of me because of the stiffness of my muscles. As you can see , they are held in place by Velcro straps and this means they don’t go anywhere! 

Styles of shoes that I really can’t wear are heels because of the height and ballet flats. I love the look of ballet flats, but the thing is that a lot of them (no matter what the price tag) are usually made with soles that are so thin that they are not comfortable anyway, and because of the posture of my feet and legs they end up falling off my feet completely. 

Moving on to footcare- looking after my toenails is something I’ve never been able to do so my pat partner does that for me. I just love having my toenails painted! The skin on my feet sometimes gets a little dry so he applies a foot cream with a natural ingredient like aloe vera, or if there are parts that are really dry, a few applications of E45 cream  a few times a day helps. E45 is my favourite intensive moisturiser and I’ll review it soon since I have a tub. 

That’s all about my feet! What are your footcare secrets? 

One thought on “Unconditional Body Beautiful Post 8: My Feet

Leave a Reply

