Review: Off The Page by Jodi Picoult and Samantha Van Leer. 

From #1 New York Times bestselling authors Jodi Picoult and her daughter and co-writer, Samantha van Leer, comes OFF THE PAGE, a tender and appealing romantic YA novel filled with humor, adventure, and magical relationships.

 

Sixteen-year-old Delilah is finally united with Oliver—a prince literally taken from the pages of a fairy tale. There are, however, complications now that Oliver has been able to enter the real world. To exist in Delilah’s world, Oliver must take the place of a regular boy. Enter Edgar, who agrees to take Oliver’s role in Delilah’s favorite book. In this multilayered universe, the line between what is on the page and what is possible is blurred, but all must be resolved for the characters to live happily ever after. Includes twelve full-color illustrations, and black-and-white decorations throughout.

 

Full of humor and witty commentary about life, OFF THE PAGE is a stand-alone novel as well as a companion to the authors’ bestseller Between the Lines, and is perfect for readers looking for a fairytale ending. Fans of Sarah Dessen and Meg Cabot are sure to appreciate this novel about love, romance, and relationships. (less)

I  read the Kindle ebook with the VoiceOver  function on my iPad.  

I think I’ll rate this between a 3.5 and a 4 because some parts were better than others. Sadly not worth a 5 though. 
I was looking forward to reading this as I bought and read Between The Lines when it came out, and was eagerly awaiting the release of the sequel. As with Between The Lines, Off The Page was a good second partnership between Jodi and her daughter Samantha van Leer, and the letter from both of them at the beginning of the book was a nice touch. 

See  an author  interview video and read an excerpt of from Off The Page here

I realise that this book is for a younger audience than the majority of Jodi’s work, and she and her daughter do a good job at writing in a different genre. However, overall, I think I prefer how Jodi writes fiction, and also because all of her previous novels before Between The Lines are amongst my favourites because of the realistic characters, gripping storylines and brilliant detail in the research that she does. They make for unforgettable books and also ones that I can read over and over again. I’m not sure yet whether I’d read the last two books again or not, although I gave Between The Lines 5 stars because of the way it was written as a different genre, and not because of the content, although both stories were cute and some parts were realistic. It is good though, that by writing her two most recent novels in a different genre than she usually does. Jodi is making her work accessible and available to a much younger audience. I do hope she writes another fiction book soon though, that would be good! 

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Review: Off The Page by Jodi Picoult and Samantha Van Leer. 

  1. Do you find that Jodi Picoult’s fiction books have all got a bit samey over the last few years? I used to get everyone when it came out but stopped reading them because I started feeling a bit like she was reusing plot elements and they weren’t fresh and exciting to me any more.

    Like

    1. I have all her books but haven’t read them all.Because I read so much in general, I leave time in between reading a Jodi Picoult book, and don’t read them one after one anymore like I used to. I prefer to read something by a totally new author, or another of my favourites. I really like how Nicholas Sparks or Nicholas Evans write. Recently, I’m very into Cathy Glass too. I didn’t like Off The Page and Between The Lines. But then there are also some of Sophie Kinsella’s books I love-The shopaholic series or Twenties Girl. I couldn’t stand Remember Me though

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s