Planning For NaNoWriMo 2015

image

It’s the beginning of October again, and that means that nano prep time has started. This time, I am caught between two projects that I have – the second instalment of the YA Disabled Shopaholic series (part 1 was my July 2014 Camp NaNoWriMo project), or a totally new fiction project which I have to choose a title for. What I know so far is that the fiction book will be about a book club, and how the people’s lives in that book change throughout the story. I have rough chapter outlines for both and know it’s good to be prepared with two projects. I just have to keep planning so that my product project will be at least 50 K long by the end of the event. Everyone who writes , and/ or does NaNoWriMo, is usually asked at some point whether they are a plotter or a pantser. I have come to the conclusion that I’m a bit of both: I like to have my plot and character outline set out well in advance, but also like to be spontaneous and just grab an idea when it comes to me as I’m writing and mould it to fit into the story. If it doesn’t fit straight away, then I will probably play around with it for a bit and if it really doesn’t fit into the story then that doesn’t matter, I’ll just keep it for another one. Also when I am planning any kind of writing, and not just NaNoWriMo, I go through a list of writing prompts that I have and see if any of those will spark off ideas. Earlier this year in April , I did Futurelearn’s online MOOC Start Writing Fiction , as it was a genre that, until that time, I had never written in. As it worked out, I wrote a fiction novel called Family Ties at the same time I was doing the course. It was my Camp NaNoWriMo April 2015 project. 

After waiting around while the NaNoWriM site was down for maintenance and being updated for the 2015 session and distracting myself how I could by planning my novel  and updating some of m iPad apps ready for NaNiWriMo (Dragon dictation, Textilus, Hootsuite), I was finally able to fill in my novel details on the NaNo site. I’m glad I’m getting organised in advance this year- it beats rushing at the last minute! 

Leave a Reply

