Review: Multipurpose Makeup – Garnier Original BB Cream (Light) 

I bought this for the first time about four or five years ago when people were really starting to use BB creams. Until, then, I’d just cleansed, toned and moisturised my skin twice a day and used foundation for most of the year and tinted moisturiser with SPF in the summer. This product was on offer when I bought it, with a few pounds off the usual price. I’m all for using products that save time and are multipurpose, so I thought I’d give this a go. 

I chose the light shade, but there is a medium one too. I find medium shades in most facial makeup ranges  are too dark for my skin. I always tend to go for the lighter shades of a new face product as even if it’s too light, I know it’ll blend into my skin better than anything darker will. 

This has quite a nice fresh fragrance. It’s thicker in texture than I expected, and feels like a tinted moisturiser, or like my “home-made” tinted moisturisers which were foundation mixed with a few dabs of moisturiser. My skin feels slightly sticky after I’ve applied this, although the coverage is good. It leaves my skin very shiny though. The good thing is it has SPF 15 and so there is some sun protection in there. It doesn’t cover my blemishes well and I always have to use concealer and powder to get more of a matte coverage. 

I used two tubes of this before I went looking for something else, but it’s a good BB cream to start with if you’re new to the world of BB cream and want moisturiser and a hint of colour plus skin protection. 

Verdict: 4/10

Product info

Leave a Reply

