Happy Birthday to Me 

Today is my birthday and I was born at 11:24 a.m. I am not sure how much older than me my identical twin sister Natalie was but this date 34 years ago was certainly a surprise for my parents who were expecting their first child and did not expect to have two babies at once, certainly not two babies who were born so early. As I was celebrating today, all the stuff my mum must have gone through that I know about when Natalie and I were born was going through my mind and I felt so glad to be here. The day started off with us getting up late because we had watched The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn Part 1 which was on TV the night of the 21st. I had seen this film before as I went to the cinema to see it with my mum when it was out three years ago. I also have it and the rest of the Twilight saga apart from part two of Breaking Dawn on DVD. I also have all of the novels. I received lots of phone calls messages cards and gifts (I will tell you exactly what I got this Sunday in my Sunday with a sassy shopaholic post). I decided a couple of weeks ago that I really wanted to stick around the area which is not too far from our apartment instead of going further afield. I was actually glad that we did because I was at least able to go to Sephora which I had been planning to do. I got €50 from my Gran along with the birthday card so I am planning to spend it. For the first time in a long time, I know exactly what I am going to spend it on: the Naked Smoky palette by Urban Decay. I have been coveting best for months now and I really want to have the latest addition to the palette range.  Alfredo bought me 2 Sephora eyeshadows, #258 Smell of Roses, which is a pale  baby pink with silver glitter and #40 . 

We went to Foster’s Hollywood for a meal. I had been wanting to go there for a long time and we finally got to. We both had burgers and I had a Pepsi. I hardly ever eat burgers so it was nice. The restaurant wasn’t as accesible as I thought it would be. The path outside was flat but there was a step up into the restaurant and then most of the tables were up a flight of stairs. Luckily, we were able to sit at one of the two tables in the bar area. There wasn’t much atmosphere in the area because no one else was there (most of the people were in the upstairs part of the restaurant) but at least we got to eat out for my birthday. It was slightly more extensive than I thought it would be at just over €10 for a medium burger with cheese bacon salad and French fries. Given that the burger was medium-sized, I felt that it was slightly better value than TGI Fridays purely based on the size of the burger you got for that price. The service was really quick and the waitresses were friendly. We were advised to have the burgers cooked quite rare but because I can’t stand any meat cooked any other way than well done, I asked for it to be cooked the way I like it. The good thing about the burgers were that they were quite low in salt which is good because Alfredo and I control and salt intake anyway. This unfortunately meant that they didn’t have very much flavour as no other herbs or spices were used. The upside of the meal was that I found that the website opinions I’d read beforehand on sites like Trip Advisor that said that you would not leave Foster’s Hollywood feeling hungry and that the portion sizes were quite good was true. They also have some delicious onion rings which we had as well. I was disappointed in the drinks menu in the fact that they don’t offer Coke or Diet Coke just Pepsi. In general, I much prefer Diet Coke to Pepsi.    We also bought tickets in advance  for tomorrow  to see the new Spanish comedy film Ocho Apellidos Catalanes (Eight Catalan Surnames). I got a leather bag from Mango and some money from my parents. My sister Nicky sent me a tote bag which aptly has the slogan I blog for lipstick on it and a framed Star Trek quote by Dr Beverly Crusher from The Next Generation series :
“Maybe there’s something wrong with the universe”
It was a good day and I am glad we got to go to the restaurant. I am a firm believer in thinking that it is best to risk going to places that I don’t know because otherwise I will never know what the access is like. We didn’t let that spoil our day though! .  

Leave a Reply

