On Having Irish Blood and Happy St Patrick’s Day 2016

Today is a special day for Irish people around the world and those with an Irish connection in their family. My family is no exception. My mum is Irish (born in Dublin). She lived there until she was about 3 years old and her older brother and sister were also born there. Her parents bought the family over to the UK where my grwndmother still lives. My grandmother and grandfather lived in Dublin for some time. My grandfather studied Arcitecture at Trinity College Dublin. Many of my other family members are in Dublin and the West of Ireland. 

The Irish accent is a familiar one to me, but I was not very familiar with Irish history, that is, until now. I have just started studying a course about Ireland’s history  online on a site called Futurelearn. Years ago, I had the pleasure to meet my mum’s second cousin and her mother and grandfather. Despite having family in Ireland, I have only been there once, when I was in my 2nd year  at Reading University. I loved the feel of being there and going back to my roots. I remember how my gran lent me some guidebooks and information leaflets beforehand, so I was well peepared. I also loved listening to hers and my grandad’s stories about their memories of living in Ireland. 

When I got to Swansea University at the age of almost 18 yesrs old, I met Siobhan, who had Irish family too. We are still friends til this day. I feel very proud of my heritage.  

Happy St Patrick’s Day to those of you who celebrate it! 

Leave a Reply

