Camp NaNoWriMo April 2016 

During April, I was so busy with Camp NaNoWriMo that I missed the start of some of my online courses.
As always, I joined a virtual “cabin” with a few other participants and was the first of us to finish. I wanted some time free during month to do other things. I think that I was right to choose to work on a short story collection this time. It allowed me to experience writing in another genre, and wasn’t as time-consuming to plan and write as a novel . I did find that I wanted to expand the short story out in some parts, but was attempting to keep within the word count limit of a short story, which is 7500 words. My commitment to keeping within this goal for each of the two short stories that I wrote during the month was cartainly good for my summary skills!

 I am not tired of fiction, in fact I prefer fiction as a genre and so will work on another fiction project in the future. So for, the genres I have written in for Camp are YA, personal poetry and fiction.
 Since I first started participating in Camp NaNoWriMo exactly 2 years ago today , I have met some incredible people and also supported people who I already knew, as they supported me.
 This is my final summary for the month

Start date: April 1, 2016

Words Per Day: 500
Total words: 15,620
Total pages: 60 in Microsoft Word iPad app
Personal end date: April 19, 2016
Official end date: April 30, 2016
In the image below, are all my projects since I started participting in Camp NaNoWriMo 2 years ago, and I am proud to have won every time. It takes commitment and organisation, but it is possible to write a novel in a month. 

  

Leave a Reply

