The Gold Lipstick Comparison: L’Oreal Color Riche Gold Obsession Lipstick in Pure Gold vs Freedom Makeup London Lipstick in Space Luxe

Gold lipstick is a huge trend right now. I bought my first gold lipstick, L’Oreal’s Colour Riche Gold Obsession Lipstick in Pure Gold in December 2016 on my birthday. This was also when I first started seeing the adverts for the Gold Obsession lipstick range on TV. My first thoughts were “that lipstick looks amazing!”
image

Normally, I would not even have thought about gold
lipstick as a colour that would suit me, but with the recent introduction of different and daring shades of lipsticks in different brands. I thought I would give this gold a try.

I couldn’t be happier with this lipstick – I think my first impression was right!

The lipstick is relatively creamy and has a creamy, sweet smell to it like a lot of the L’Oreal lipsticks do.

I have been a fan of L’oreal since I was insecondary school because I think that they do long lasting products that really are good value for money.
I bet you’re wanting to know what this lipstick looks like, so here are some swatches! I personally love the shine on this lipstick as well as the colour. it is really comfortable to wear , too. I definitely think I will buy it again!

The only thing that I think is not quite right about this product is the price. It cost €11 95 (RRP€12 95 ) when I bought it, and I thought that it was a bit expensive, but I wanted to treat myself back then for my birthday.
Verdict – 9/10

As this is a comparison post, I am now going to show you the product I would like to compare this product too. It is Freedom Makeup London’s gold lipstick in Space Luxe.

This lipstick, in contrast to the L’Oreal one, is more of a matte and muted goldy-bronze shade and not as shiny as L’oreal’s Pure Gold shade. Pure Gold is the top shade and Space Luxe is the bottom shade in this photo.

Space Luxe seems good for a different every day look or a party look. I still like the colour, but I really like the finish and feel of the L’Oreal lipstick.
Space Luxe is sold either as a single lipstick or as a part of the Faraway Galaxy five lipstick set. As I love a bargain, I decided to buy the set,  which I will review in another post.

Here’s what Space Luxe looks like on me:

 

I’ll give this 7/10. The packaging feels a bit flimsy and I hope it will last me.

Of the two products, L’Oreal’s Pure Gold Colour Riche lipstick is amazing, but Freedom’s Space Luxe is a great budget alternative. Both go on creamy, so if you like this look, they could be your type of product. Don’t expect megashine from Space Luxe. I had to apply 2 coats of product to get this payoff. Overall, I like both but would buy the L’Oreal one again despite the cost because it is exactly colour I was looking for in a gold and has an amazing finish. Both products come up better thsn I thought they would.

 

Have you tried one of these or both? Thoughts? Comment below!

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Gold Lipstick Comparison: L’Oreal Color Riche Gold Obsession Lipstick in Pure Gold vs Freedom Makeup London Lipstick in Space Luxe

Leave a Reply

